Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Debuts You Are Excited For

So I’ve been a little out of touch with the blog the last few weeks, but it’s a new year and time for a new start, so I’m back! I have to say I had a hard time finding five 2017 debuts to write about this week, because most of my most anticipated books this year are either part of a series (I’m looking at you, A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN) or from an established author (ahem, STRANGE THE DREAMER). But I’ve had a look around, and here are some books I’m definitely excited for.

Number one: THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING by Jeff Giles (31/1/17)
22296822

Reeling from her father’s death and neighbours’ disappearance, Zoe and her brother find themselves sheltering from a snowstorm in a remote Montana cabin when they are brutally attacked – only to be rescued by a bounty hunter known only as X.

I think I first noticed this book when Netgalley sent me an email suggesting I request it, which I immediately did. I haven’t got around to reading it yet, but it sounds fantastic! I’m really excited to get to this ARC as soon as I can.

 

Number two: TO CATCH A KILLER by Sheryl Scarborough (7/2/17) 29939266

Fourteen years after the brutal murder of her mother, Erin Blake finds herself at the centre of another homicide investigation when she finds the body of her biology teacher.

This sounds a bit like a YA version of Gillian Flynn’s DARK PLACES at first glance, and I think that’s what really intrigues me. I’ve also never read a decent YA thriller centred around murder like this one is.

 

Number three: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber (3278832141/1/17)

Scarlett is thrilled to finally receive an invitation to the mysterious Caraval – but the game is more ruthless than she imagines, and to win, she must find Tella, her twin sister who has been whisked away by Caraval’s mastermind organiser.

This honestly sounds like THE NIGHT CIRCUS crossed with NERVE and also just so good. I was gutted to be turned down for an ARC of this but I’m just going to have to pray it’s at the bookstore when I can get there next month!

Number four: DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING by Tricia Levenseller (28/2/17)28116719

17-year-old Alosa gets herself kidnapped in order to stowaway on a pirate ship hunting for treasure, but her plans are thwarted by the unfairly attractive first mate, Riden.

I have never read a YA pirate novel. Unless PASSENGER counts. Does it? It has pirates. I don’t know. But this sounds really good! I’m hoping for a kick-ass female protagonist and a really good adventure, and I think this is going to tick both those boxes – plus the one marked ‘pirates’!

 

Aaaand number five: ONE OF US IS LYING by Karen M. McManus (30/5/17)32571395

THE BREAKFAST CLUB meets PRETTY LITTLE LIARS: Five students walk into detention. Four walk out alive. And all of them had a reason to want Simon dead.

I am utter trash for this sort of thing. Over-privileged, spoiled rich kids are my jam. It’s a ‘how the other half live’ thing. Also: murder. My other jam. I think this book will be my birthday present to myself!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Debuts You Are Excited For

Leave a comment