rhia reviews | The Waking Land by Callie Bates

34610036

It’s been fourteen years, since King Antoine took Elanna hostage. Fourteen years since her father’s rebellion failed. Fourteen years spent being raised by the man who condemned her people to misery. A man she’s come to love as a father.

Now 20, Elanna is about to be taken prisoner once again… but this time by her father’s mysterious righthand man.

Her father wants to reignite his rebellion, this time using Elanna as figurehead. He will tell his followers she is the legendary Wildegarde reborn, a sorceress who could make the very earth tremble.

But what no one knows is that magic really does flow through Elanna’s veins. Now she must decide which side she’s on, and whether she’ll use her powers for mercy… or revenge.

Release date: June 29th, 2017

My Goodreads rating: ★★★★☆

I actually received an arc of this in May’s illumicrate box, then promptly dropped it down the side of my bed and forgot about it (by accident, obviously) so it’s taken me until now to read it!

Now I’ve finally got around to reading it, I really enjoyed this book! Elanna is a really strong character and I really liked her voice in the narrative. I also liked the writing and I thought the plot was really interesting – although I’m starting to get a little sick of fantasy novels where the monarchy is awful and there’s a big revolution.

I especially like the magic system – even though the magic doesn’t come to very many people in the story, it’s so important to the plot, and I love the way the author has written it. I also liked that although this is apparently going to have a sequel, it’s tied up well enough that it could stand alone instead.

Buy THE WAKING LAND on Book Depository!

Leave a Reply

