rhia reviews: Two Nights by Kathy Reichs

29915404Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct… 

Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing. But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie’s help. 

Is the girl dead? Did someone take her? If she is out there, why doesn’t she want to be found? It’s time for Sunnie to face her own demons because they just might lead her to the truth about what really happened all those years ago.

My Goodreads rating: ★★★☆☆

Release date: July 11th, 2017

Thanks to netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I can safely say I have read every book in Kathy Reichs’ two other series, so I know what to expect from her writing. I was really excited to read TWO NIGHTS from the POV of a new character.

There are elements of this novel that are reminiscent of Reichs’ other works, but Sunnie is such a different character from Tempe Brennan that from the very beginning you know you’re not reading a Brennan novel. Sunnie shoots first and asks questions later, which gets her into a few sticky situations.

I really like the mystery element of the story and I feel that is something Reichs does really well. I do think it’s a shame this is a standalone novel if I’m honest because it’s set up as a great start to a series. I feel like Sunnie had a lot to say in this novel and has a lot more she could say afterwards.

Buy this book on Book Depository!

One thought on “rhia reviews: Two Nights by Kathy Reichs

Leave a Reply

