rhia reviews #37 | Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

33224064A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.

Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

My Goodreads rating: ★★★★☆

I quite enjoyed Hawkins’ debut thriller, THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, so when my boyfriend offered to buy me a book at the airport I jumped at the chance to get my hands on this. It has everything I remember enjoying about THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, but from the pen of a stronger author.

I definitely felt INTO THE WATER was better written – for me Hawkins’ previous novel was a little predicable and the unreliable narrator trope grated on me a little, but I found myself wanting to know the story here. I wanted to be looking over Jules’ shoulder as she tried to figure out what happened to her sister.

The multiple POVs did annoy me a little at the beginning, because a lot of the early chapters are quite short so you’re introduced to five or six POV characters in the space of 30 pages and I couldn’t quite get my head around who was who – but as the story progressed it became easier to pick out an individual voice and know who was speaking.

I did like that it’s not too predictable – even when you think you know what happened, there’s another twist to remind you that you don’t have all the pieces. This is the kind of thriller I like.

View on Goodreads.

Buy this book: Amazon UK | Amazon US | B&N | Waterstones | Book Depository

One thought on “rhia reviews #37 | Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

