rhia reviews #33 | Contagion by Teri Terry

32871458

URGENT!
An epidemic is sweeping the country.
You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine.
The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.

Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened.

My Goodreads rating: ★★★★☆

I received a free copy of this ebook from Netgalley & the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

CONTAGION is the first in a series about a killer plague sweeping through Scotland and northern England. I read and enjoyed Terry’s SLATED series, and although I haven’t yet got around to her stand alones, I know she’s one of my favourite UKYA authors.

This is an apocalyptic plague thriller crossed with a roadtrip of Scotland (ft. Newcastle). Shay and Kai travel from town to town, trying to figure out the secrets behind the “Aberdeen flu”.

I’m a big fan of this sort of book, so I was really excited when I realised it was about an epidemic. I think Terry really captures the atmosphere of terror that comes with this kind of story. Shay and Kai’s desperation is written really well – and Callie’s story is too. Plus, the ending! I hate how long I have to wait to find out what happens.

View on Goodreads.

Buy this book: Amazon UK | Amazon US | B&N | Waterstones | Book Depository

One thought on “rhia reviews #33 | Contagion by Teri Terry

Leave a Reply

