rhia reviews | A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

My Goodreads rating: ★★★★★

So apparently this is the last book in the series that will feature Feyre and Rhys as main characters – and while I’m gutted about that because I LOVE THEM, I’m glad their story has been summed up nicely.

I don’t really know how to review this book because most of my thoughts on it involve incoherent screaming. There were parts where I screamed at the characters, parts where I laughed, parts where I openly cried. Especially the end. Oh be still my beating heart, that ending.

I do know there’s been some controversy surrounding this book, mostly I think down to a bit of dodgy editing and a misconstrued line. There have also been diversity issues in the previous two books that have definitely been thrown out in ACOWAR – plenty of new characters are introduced including POC and LGBT+ characters.

I’ve also seen some people say this series is following the THRONE OF GLASS route in pairing up all the main characters, but I really don’t think it is? There are only really two pairings made in this book aside Feyre/Rhys, and even those aren’t exactly “paired up”.

View on Goodreads.

Buy it here: Amazon UK | Book Depository | Waterstones

Leave a Reply

