rhia reviews | The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

29229799What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

My Goodreads rating: ★★★★☆

Thanks to the barista in Costa who held my drink so I could go buy this after my Kindle died!

I really like the idea of this book. It all harks back to Xander’s famous quote from Buffy the Vampire Slayer: “They’ll never know how tough it is, Dawnie, to be the one who isn’t chosen.

And that’s what THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE is about. Mike isn’t the chosen one. He’s not an “indie kid” or part God or anything else, he’s just a kid trying to graduate high school. Of course, that’s not to say his story isn’t pretty cool. But while the apocalypse is playing out for the indie kids, Mike is more interested in hanging out with his friends, avoiding his parents, and battling his OCD.

I just love Patrick Ness’ writing (and one day I will finish his CHAOS WALKING trilogy, dammit!) and this didn’t disappoint me at all. Mike and his friends are such a cool, diverse cast of characters and their story instantly drew me in – I finished this in basically one sitting.

This is definitely a book I would recommend.

See this review on my Goodreads.

Buy this book: Amazon UK | Amazon US | B&N | Waterstones | Book Depository

Leave a Reply

