rhia reviews | The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion

30745758

On the cusp of fifty, Adam Sharp has a loyal partner, earns a good income as an IT contractor and is the music-trivia expert at quiz nights. It’s the lifestyle he wanted, but something’s missing.

Two decades ago, on the other side of the world, his part-time piano playing led him into a passionate relationship with Angelina Brown, who’d abandoned law studies to pursue her acting dream. She gave Adam a chance to make it something more than an affair—but he didn’t take it. And now he can’t shake off his nostalgia for what might have been.

Then, out of nowhere, Angelina gets in touch. What does she want? Does Adam dare to live dangerously? How far will he go for a second chance?

My Goodreads rating: ★★☆☆☆

I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher & netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS, because I really can’t think how to write it without them.

I expected something more from this book. I’ve read Graeme Simsion’s other novels – loved THE ROSIE PROJECT but was slightly let down by THE ROSIE EFFECT – so I expected something lighter and more humorous.

Instead, I got a protagonist I absolutely hated. If this is the best of Adam Sharp, I dread to think what the worst of him would be. Adam Sharp lives his entire life haunted by this actress he had a fling with back in the ’80s. When she gets back in touch, he throws away his entire life just to meet her. Literally. This guy leaves his girlfriend, jacks in his job, and buggers off to France to meet her… AND HER HUSBAND.

Also the whole thing with Adam and Angelina and Charlie in France? Weird as hell. This whole book is just people cheating on their spouses. I feel like if it had been Adam and Angelina reconnecting, getting to know each other again, blablabla, I might have enjoyed it. The way this story was, I really didn’t.

I’m honestly sad about it because I did enjoy Simsion’s other books so much. Perhaps his next offering will be better? I can hope.

Leave a Reply

