rhia reviews: The Book of Mirrors by E.O. Chirovici

33408015How would you piece together a murder?

Do you trust other people’s memories?
Do you trust your own?
Should you?

Princeton, 1987: renowned psychologist Professor Joseph Weider is brutally murdered.

New York, twenty-five years later: literary agent Peter Katz receives a manuscript. Or is it a confession?

Today: unearth the secrets of The Book of Mirrors and discover why your memory is the most dangerous weapon of all.

 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

My Goodreads rating: ★★

I’m going to have to be honest – this book bored me. I went into it expecting a thriller, and instead I got a slow-burning mystery. There’s very little action, if any.

The book is split into three parts, each with its own perspective: Peter Katz, the literary agent who receives Richard Flynn’s partial manuscript; John Keller, the freelance writer assigned by Katz to dig up the rest of the story; and Roy Freeman, the now-retired detective originally assigned to the Weider case.

THE BOOK OF MIRRORS is supposed to be a twisty, psychological suspense. I found it to be very much dialogue driven, and while it’s not easily predictable, the twists aren’t particularly surprising.

It’s a real shame because this is marketed as a psychological thriller and, in my opinion at least, it just isn’t. It’s 326 pages of “X says this, so I went to speak to Y who says this about X, but then X said…”. The best part was Flynn’s manuscript, and I’d love to have known who Flynn actually thought the killer was.

Chirovici’s writing is good, as you’d expect from an author who has already published 10 novels in his home country of Romania, but it’s a shame his first novel written in English is so lacking in plot. I hope this author can go on to better things.

This novel might be up your alley if you like slow-burning suspense, but I definitely prefer my thrillers to be a little more exciting.

Leave a Reply

