rhia reviews: Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

Annie’s mother is a serial killer.

The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.

31575482But out of sight is not out of mind.

As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.

A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.

But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.

Good me, bad me.

She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

My Goodreads rating: ★★★

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

So I kind of forced myself to read this last night as I’m a little behind on my ARC reviews, and I’m glad I did. So the premise is this: Annie’s mum is a serial killer. Annie turns her in to the authorities, and gets put into witness protection with a foster family while she waits to testify at her mother’s trial.

First off, Annie – now known as Milly – is totally messed up from the years of abuse she endured from her mum, who’s essentially groomed her to help out with the “family business”. So she’s not a reliable narrator by any means (which I love) – and she has a tendency to skip over things in the narrative and then come back to them later.

This book is written in a style that’s slightly difficult to get into at first but it totally works – it’s short, choppy sentences and not always grammatically correct, but that’s okay because it reads like Annie is telling you the story herself, not some perfect omniscient narrator. I like an alternative writing style so although I didn’t settle in with this particular one straight away, I did like it. I also like the twisty nature of the story – you’ll have an idea in your head of what’s going to happen next, and pages later, you’ve changed your mind.

I’d definitely recommend this one to other fans of psychological thrillers.

Leave a Reply

