rhia reviews: Clarity by Kim Harrington

13582404Clarity “Clare” Fern sees things. Things no one else can see. Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets. All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her. It’s a gift.

And a curse.

When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare’s ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case–but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk. Then Clare’s brother–who has supernatural gifts of his own–becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away. Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer. But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?

My Goodreads rating: ★★

This book was so disappointing. I really feel like it could have been so good and it just… wasn’t.

First, I could not stand the protagonist. Clarity “Clare” Fern is SO ANNOYING. I don’t know if it’s bad writing or what, but, seriously. She has no friends, apparently because she’s considered a freak by everyone at school because of her psychic power, but her ability didn’t manifest until puberty so why did she not have any friends before then? And why is her brother so popular when she is so shunned?

She also has a habit of constantly leaping to the worst conclusions. Whenever she suspects someone of being the killer she claims to be certain of their guilt, and jumps from one suspect to another with every tiny bit of information.

Secondly, the writing is actually pretty bad. I’ll admit I’ve never met anyone from Massachusetts, but I’m sure real people do not talk the way the characters do in this novel. Someone literally uses the word “twit”. Is that a word Americans actually use? Even us Brits don’t use it that much any more. Not to mention the line “I realised from the sun’s position in the sky that it was the afternoon…” like REALLY?! Who uses the sun to measure time?!

Thirdly, I’m fairly certain Clare is described as being a redhead, but she’s constantly wearing pink. I know this is an odd thing to pick up on and complain about, but I’m a redhead myself and pink is the last colour I would ever wear because it looks horrendous with red hair. And “pale pink lipstick”? Not a chance.

Also I have to say whenever Perry is mentioned all I can think of is Perry the Platypus. Childish but true.

Leave a Reply

