January 2017 Wrap-Up

So this month I read a fantastic 13 books! I’m very proud of myself, although part of my success has been reading several small books. I’ve not been hugely impressed with this month’s reading quality though. Here’s my list.
13337716
1. A DANCE WITH DRAGONS PART 2: AFTER THE FEAST by George R.R. Martin

★★★  –  A slightly disappointing “ending” to a fantastic series. So
many loose ends. All I want is to know who will sit on the Iron Throne. Roll on THE WINDS OF WINTER!

2. FIVE GO GLUTEN FREE by Bruno Vincent

★★★★  –  An excellent Christmas present and a humourous take on the original FAMOUS FIVE stories with more mature themes. Also an amusing look at the gluten-free fad.

3. THE ACCIDENTAL LIFE OF JESSIE JEFFERSON by Paige Toon

★★★  –  Disappointing and a little predictable, although partly my own fault for trying to read a summer holiday beach read at Christmastime.21248666

4. SHE IS NOT INVISIBLE by Marcus Sedgewick

★★★   –  Not so much bad, as just not great? I enjoyed this but I felt like it could have been a lot better.

5. THE HEIR by Kiera Cass

★★★  –  The totally unecessary but totally cute sequel to THE SELECTION series. I didn’t like Eadlyn very much as a character though.

6. EVERY DAY by David Levithan

★★★★  –  A really interesting sci-fi YA novel. I really enjoyed the idea that A could only be in a body for a day before moving on. Helps that I do love David Levithan’s work.24917415

7. PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston

★★★★  –  Brutally honest and totally unforgiving. Stevie is such a well-written character in such a well-written novel. I’ve not read a lot of books about eating disorders but this is the best I have read.

8. FIVE GIVE UP THE BOOZE by Bruno Vincent

25841943★★★  –  Amusing but not as funny as other works in this “series”.

9. CROW MOUNTAIN by Lucy Inglis

★★★★  –  There are two very similar stories in this novel and I adored them both, as well as the way they intertwine.

10. WITHOUT MERCY by Bethany Helen Lake

★★★★★  –  A poignant collection of poetry by one of my closest friends. I’m biased but I think it’s fantastic.

11. LEMONY SNICKET: THE UNAUTHORISED AUTOBIOGRAPHY by Lemony Snicket

★★★★  –  Companion the fantastic A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS. Answers very few, if any, of the questions ASOUE throws up but entertaining nonetheless.

12. THE ONE MEMORY OF FLORA BANKS by Emily Barr

★★★  –  I was really disappointed by this. Because of the protagonist’s condition, it’s childishly written and repetitive, which makes for a very difficult reading experience.16248043

13. FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS by Diana Peterfreund

★★★★★  –  A young adult retelling of PERSUASION, set in a futuristic dystopian society. Slow to start, but once it gets going, it’s so good.

What did you read this month? Have you read any of these, and what did you think? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

