rhia reviews: For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

In the aftermath of a genetic experiment that has devastated humanity, a new class system placed anti-technology Luddites in absolute power over vast estates—and any survivors living there.
Elliot 16248043North is a dutiful Luddite and a dutiful daughter who runs her father’s estate. When the boy she loved, Kai, a servant, asked her to run away with him four years ago, she refused, although it broke her heart.
 
Now Kai is back. And while Elliot longs for a second chance with her first love, she knows it could mean betraying everything she’s been raised to believe is right.

This is a YA retelling of Jane Austen’s PERSUASION, which I have not read, so I can’t say how good of a retelling it is.

I found this book a little slow to get in to, but this afternoon I just sat down and read the last three-quarters of it and I have been blown away. I adored it. Peterfreund’s writing is fantastic. Her characters are amazing and I love all of them. I desperately want more of the story because honestly the only thing lacking to me is a scientific explanation of what caused the Reduction – although I totally understand why it was left out – and I can’t wait to read the companion novel.

Leave a Reply

