Wrap Up: November 2016

November has been an odd month. I’ve read twelve books, and I think the only thing to thank for that is the fact that I damaged a ligament in my knee last week and I’ve been sofa-bound ever since, with not a lot else to do but read. Here is what I read:

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martinclashofkings

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars. Read 26 Oct – 6 Nov.

The second book in the Game of Thrones or A Song of Ice and Fire series. All the surviving characters from the first book make an appearance, plus a few great new faces.

I love this kind of deep, slow-burning fantasy series so I really enjoyed this.

seaofadventureThe Sea of Adventure by Enid Blyton

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars. Read 4 Nov – 6 Nov.

The fourth book in Blyton’s Adventure series. The children go on holiday to the remote Scottish isles to recover from measles – but all is not as it seems!

This wasn’t my favourite of the series but it is one that I didn’t read as a child. I did enjoy it but, having not read this one before, I could really tell how dated the writing and some of the ideas within the writing are. Still a lovely, nostalgic read.

Nerve by Jeanne Ryannerve

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars. Read 6 Nov – 7 Nov.

Vee volunteers to compete in a televised game of “dares” – where each dare is rewarded with a prize she desperately wants – but how far will she go before she loses NERVE?

This was a great premise, disappointingly executed. I could have really enjoyed this but Vee was SO ANNOYING as a protagonist and all the other characters are so flat and undeveloped I just couldn’t really form any opinions of them. I’d like to see the movie though – hopefully it’s better than the book!

skyeverywhereThe Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My Goodreads rating: 5 starsRead 9 Nov – 10 Nov.

Struggling to come to terms with her sister’s death, seventeen-year-old musician Lennie finds herself torn between two boys: the hot new boy in town, or her dead sister’s boyfriend.

This is a beautiful novel. I loved I’ll Give You the Sun and I didn’t think I would like this more but Jandy Nelson’s writing is just so fantastic. All the characters are well-rounded, realistic and relatable. The plot is beautifully executed. I’d give it 10 stars if I could.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriartybiglittlelies

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars. Read 11 Nov – 12 Nov.

Young single mum Jane befriends beautiful Celeste and passionate Madeline when she moves to a coastal Australian town where secrets and lies run riot and it’s only a matter of time before they all unravel.

I adore mystery books and this was no exception – especially seeing as this book is mostly the build up to the Event instead of the aftermath, which I really enjoy.

Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyardcruelcrown

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars. Read 13 Nov.

Two novellas from the Red Queen series: one telling the story of Queen Coriane, and the other introducing us to Farley.

I wasn’t blown away by these. I loved Red Queen and I thought Glass Sword was okay for a sequel, but I didn’t feel either of these novellas were necessary or actually added anything to the series.

Heartless by Marissa Meyerheartless1

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars. Read 14 Nov – 17 Nov.

Catherine wants to open a bakery with her best friend Mary Ann; her mother wants her to marry the King of Hearts.

One of the best books I’ve read this year. This is a fantastic story with lots of hints to the Alice in Wonderland we know and love.

highcastleThe Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars. Read 13 Nov – 23 Nov.

In an alternate universe where Japan & Germany won the Second World War, a book begins circulating in which they did not.

I was really interested in the premise of this book but I felt the writing style let it down. I’d like to watch the TV series based on this and see if that’s any better.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGeefloor1000

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars. Read 24 Nov – 26 Nov.

Manhattan, 2118. Meet Leda, Eris, Rylin, Watt, and Avery, whose stories are intertwined in a world of secrets, lies, and betrayal. There’s a heavy price to pay for somebody – but who will it be?

Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars set in 1000-storey skyscraper. I did like this but there is a hell of a lot going on, and a lot of characters to remember and keep straight in your head while you’re reading. I’ll be picking up the sequel though.

hutuHolding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars. Read 26 Nov – 27 Nov.

Libby used to be “America’s Fattest Teen”. Jack is face-blind. When the two meet, by accident of a childish high-school game, they find themselves inexplicably drawn together.

I didn’t think this was as good as Niven’s previous novel. It’s good, but Jack is such a hard character to like that he made the whole book a little harder to read.

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherlandourchemicalhearts

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars. Read 28 Nov.

When hopeless romantic Henry and peculiar new girl Grace Town are both chosen to edit the school newspaper, he finds himself falling for her. But Grace is hiding some dark secrets.

Another YA romance with a male protagonist I just could not like. I really felt for Grace in this novel but Henry is such an arse.

smolgr8thingsSmall Great Things by Jodi Picoult

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars. Read 28 Nov – 29 Nov.

African American nurse Ruth is forbidden from caring for the newborn child of white supremacist parents. After the baby goes into cardiac distress and she hesitates – disobey the parents wishes, or disobey her oath as a nurse? – she is blamed for his death.

As a white person, I feel I cannot comment on the way Jodi Picoult writes about race, but I do feel this is a well-written novel. Picoult doesn’t tiptoe around the issue of race. Another winning legal novel from one of my favourite authors.


What did you guys read this month? Did you also read any of these books and if so what did you think? Let me know! I’d love to hear from you.

 

Leave a Reply

