Rhia Reviews: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

heartlessLet me start by saying I love Alice in Wonderland, and I love Marissa Meyer, so this book was high up on my most anticipated of the year list. And now I’ve finished it, I’ll definitely be picking up a hard copy for my shelf next time I’m at the bookshop.

So Heartless follows the young Lady Catherine Pinkerton, who we all know as the Queen of Hearts. Of course, she’s not the Queen yet. Cath wants nothing more than to open a bakery with her best friend and housemaid, Mary Ann. She doesn’t even like the King that much – although her parents have other ideas.

It’s fascinating to slowly see Catherine morph from a happy young dreamer into the cold, careless Queen, and the story itself is so good. Meyer’s writing is fantastic, as always; her characters believable. Cath is a precious cinnamon bun with a dream who grows hugely in maturity, in strength and in tenacity. Jest is such a fantastic love interest but so much more – he has his own storyline beyond being the other half (third? Does this count as a love triangle?) of the romantic arc.

Also there are so many other little nods to Lewis Carroll’s original work: the Hatter; the Mock Turtle; how the White Rabbit got his pocketwatch – although I would have liked an explanation for his perpetual lateness!

Overall, this is a fantastic book from a fantastic author.

Leave a Reply

